Technical Books section of Anil Aggrawal's Internet Journal of Book Reviews. Vol.5, No. 2, July - December 2006
  home  > Vol. 5, No. 2, July - December 2006  > Review of Radiology, 3rd Edition by Sumer K. Sethi (You are here)
Navigation ribbon


Ref: Agarwal P.  Review of Radiology, 3rd Edition by Sumer K. Sethi. (Book Review).  Anil Aggrawal's Internet Journal of Book Reviews, 2006; Vol. 5, No. 2 (July - December 2006): ; Published July 1, 2006, (Accessed: 

Email Paras Agarwal by clicking here


Anil Aggrawal's Internet Journal of Book Reviews

Volume 5, Number 2, July - December 2006

Technical Books Section

(Page 1)

A HIGH-YIELD BOOK

 Review of Radiology, 3rd Edition by Sumer K Sethi, Softcover, 4.5" x 8.5".

Peepee Publishers & Distributors (P) Ltd., 7/31, First Floor, Ansari Road, Daryaganj, New Delhi - 110002, India. Ph: 9811156083, 011-55195868. E-mail:peepee160@yahoo.co.in: Publication Date 2006. 244 pages, ISBN 81-88867-78-0. Price: US $ 7.00, 4.00, Indian Rs 125.00

Official site: http://www.peepeepub.com/default.asp
Online support: www.sumerdoc.blogspot.com
Online orders: Please click here to order.

Review of Radiology, 3rd Edition by Sumer K. Sethi.
Cover Page of Dr. Sumer Sethi's bestselling book

(Editor's Note: Sumer Sethi's Review of Radiology is turning out to be a bestseller, breaking all records. When we reviewed the second edition of this book in this journal, the book was already doing extremely well, but no one - not perhaps even the author and the publisher - must have thought that the book would do so exceedingly well! So high were the sales, that just in one year - 2005 - three reprints of the book had to be published. Yielding to the constant demands of the radiology community around the world, the author has now come out with an updated third edition of his book. Quite obviously we did not want to invite the earlier reviewers to review this new edition (we already knew their opinion). So we looked around for a fresh reviewer and this time requested a topper student Paras Agarwal to review this book. Here is what he has to say of this book...)

Review of Radiology 3rd edition for me was a short and sweet trip to the world of this fascinating subject. It is, I believe a very thoughtful compilation of anecdotes suited for the current examination pattern, well flavored with recent and relevant advances in the subject, as would be desired by any above average student. In two words, I would rightly call this as a 'little genie'.

Though with my unbiased critical nature in evaluating a thing at hand, I would be unfeigned in picking out a few overlooked points, though as a suggestion only.

The first need, which I felt while reading this book, was that the contents page of the book could be a little more elaborate to guide the reader. Lets say for example if I am reading the urogenital system in surgery and would like to know about its radiology, I have to flip through the pages of systemic radiology section to hunt, with no index to point to a particular page, a ritual with any book. But rather than a more elaborate index, I thought it would be better to have an appendix tailed in the end for easy location of an answer. This would be perfect if listed disease-wise and or according to radiologic signs. This I am quite sure, would be a valuable addition as a time-saver for many in context with the paucity of time while preparing for PG examinations.

In Association with Amazon.com

I agree with the author in the point he makes in calling this a high-yield book, but I believe the 4th edition can be worked upon to make it a comprehensive one as well, that too without altering the original style.

Radiology is definitely not a regular subject discussed in detail in the undergraduate curriculum, yet undoubtedly an essential component for learning and mastering the clinics, and even more importantly cracking the competitive exams. Thus a book to be comprehensive certainly needs to start from scratch and basics of a subject, like even simple points on how to read and report an X-ray.

I personally have always liked a book that also tells 'why' and not just 'what', and it would be really wonderful to know the 'why' in a subject like radiology where the diagnosis lies not in the feel of the hand or the sound of a stethoscope, but in the eyes of an expert and the sharpness of what lies between the two ears.

-Paras Agarwal

Paras Agarwal
-Paras Agarwal
Paras Agarwal, 21, is currently an undergraduate student of medicine and surgery, final professional, at the Maulana Azad Medical College, New Delhi. An avid lover of books of all kinds, he has been the topper in most of his academic examinations. He has been the Joint Student Editor of his institution. Paras can be contacted at paras_ag@yahoo.com.

 Order this Book by clicking here

 Request a PDF file of this review by clicking here. (If your screen resolution can not be increased, or if printing this page is giving you problems like overlapping of graphics and/or tables etc, you can take a proper printout from a pdf file. You will need an Acrobat Reader though. You can also create a pdf file yourself by clicking here.)

 


 N.B. It is essential to read this journal - and especially this review as it contains several tables and high resolution graphics - under a screen resolution of 1600 x 1200 dpi or more. If the resolution is less than this, you may see broken or overlapping tables/graphics, graphics overlying text or other anomalies. It is strongly advised to switch over to this resolution to read this journal - and especially this review. These pages are viewed best in Netscape Navigator 4.7 and above.

-Editor-in-Chief


[ Major links ]

Back to the main page
of Vol. 5, No. 2 (July - December 2006)

Books for review must be submitted at the following address.

Professor Anil Aggrawal (Editor-in-Chief)
Anil Aggrawal's Internet Journal of Book Reviews
S-299 Greater Kailash-1
New Delhi-110048
India

 Click here to contact us.
Escati Free
Counter
You are Visitor No:

since July 1, 2004
when this page was created.

This page has been constructed and maintained by Dr. Anil Aggrawal, Professor of Forensic Medicine, at the Maulana Azad Medical College, New Delhi-110002. You may want to give me the feedback to make this pages better. Please be kind enough to write your comments in the guestbook maintained above. These comments would help me make these pages better.

IMPORTANT NOTE: ALL REVIEWS APPEARING IN THIS ONLINE JOURNAL ARE COPYRIGHTED BY "ANIL AGGRAWAL'S INTERNET JOURNAL OF BOOK REVIEWS" AND MAY NOT BE REPOSTED, REPRINTED OR OTHERWISE USED IN ANY MANNER WITHOUT THE WRITTEN PERMISSION OF THE WEBMASTER

  home  > Vol.5, No. 2, July - December 2006  > Review of Radiology, 3rd Edition by Sumer K. Sethi (You are here)
Navigation ribbon